Honors awarded at NAU are divided into two groups: President's List and Dean's List. These honors are reserved for students in the associates, bachelor's, master's, and doctoral programs.

Each term, students who earn a designated cumulative grade point average are eligible for the following honors:

President’s List – 4.0 CPGA

Dean’s List – 3.5 to 3.99 CGPA

Graduation Honors

Upon meeting appropriate degree graduation requirements, those students who have exhibited academic excellence will be awarded the designations to indicate that they have graduated with honors. To be eligible for these honors, a student must have a cumulative grade point average on credits earned at NAU according to the following schedule:

  • Cum Laude - An average of 3.5 to 3.69
  • Magna Cum Laude - An average of 3.7 to 3.89
  • Summa Cum Laude - An average of 3.9 or higher

Associate degree and diploma candidates who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher for credits earned at NAU are eligible for the designation "With Distinction."

In addition to these honors, specific colleges and schools may maintain additional awards and honors.